Skip to content

RIDE REPORT / Lillian, AL to Gainesville, FL

March 10, 2014

SPONSORED BY:

gs-drinkware  _________________________________________________________________

contact-bannerdonatecontact-bannerdonate

Late May, 2009 – Lillian, Alabama

I got an early start that morning.  I slept fantastically but woke up at 6:00 am and had a hankering to get moving.  I wanted to visit the Naval Air Museum in Pensacola but did not want to hang around until they opened several hours later.  In retrospect, I wish I had.  But, these were early days in my long distance motorcycle wanderings and I was always in a hurry to get somewhere.

image

Gear packed, I rolled out of the KOA and rolled onto 10 East towards Tallahassee.  Somewhere near the interstate I found a Waffle house, staggered inside and ordered a huge breakfast.  Biscuits and gravy, hash browns, bacon and toast, and enough Iced Tea to make the 1775 British empire jealous.  I needed good eating before hitting the road.

As you can see from the map below, this route was serious brain fart as the map shows a more interesting chance to ride along the coast through Gulf Breeze, Fort Walton, Panama City, Port St. Joe, etc.

image

Oh well, live and learn (I did).  My journal on this ride is less than a paragraph.  Basically it says “I rode and rode some more, and watched the Preakness race at a bar in a non descript Gainesville mall” 

I rolled into Gainesville late that afternoon.  It had been a completely boring ride – all slab interstate and crazed truck drivers.  I checked into a La Quinta or Best Western and crashed.  I know, I know, this is not the best travel writing or record keeping.  Stick with me, It gets better as I got more experience. 

UP NEXT – Gainesville, FL to Pompano Beach, FL and the Florida Keys!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

