Skip to content

RIDE REPORT – Grand Isle, LA (Part II)

January 22, 2014

Track Back – Link to first story of the trip

Grand Isle Part 1

Archive Report – March 12/13, 2009

A few more long distance riders trickled into the park that afternoon.  The Ducati and Buell were ridden by a father an son from Michigan.  The Kawasaki was ridden by a college student heading to California from the east coast.  Apparently the Kawai had zero range and he had to keep a fuel can strapped to the back of the bike to get from gas station to gas station.  We had a great time talking and shared a few beers late that evening.

They left the next day and after we said goodbye I really felt alone.  I felt I was too long in one place and the road was calling.  I was in a pretty lonely and crappy mood that evening.

IMG_0264

To cheer myself up, rode around the fishing docks of Grand Isle just taking in the sights.  Anything to pass the time and get out of my funky mood.

IMG_0242

There are some great houses in Grand Isle.  I recently learned that James Whitey Bulger was hiding out on Grand Isle.

  IMG_0269

For those of you who don’t know Whitey, he was a notorious Boston gangster who had  been on the run for 16 years.  Who knows? He might have been sitting at the bar with me or wandering around the local Supermarket.

 IMG_0272

Back to the Lighthouse for dinner.  BLT this time.

IMG_0277

Excellent as usual.  Nothing like a BLT and a big glass of Iced Tea.

IMG_0278

After dinner, I went over to a bar that I believe was called “Daddy’s Money”.  A Google Earth search of the town now shows a bar called “Club Oasis”  Despite the creepy name I went inside and ordered a beer.  With only a few choices on the Isle, you take what you can find.  Apparently the locals favor Golf Carts for power drinking.

IMG_0276 

I left for Arties Sports bar which was down the street. There were a few decrepit overstuffed chairs just inside the door.  After several days of sitting on park benches they looked GREAT to me!  I grabbed a seat and relaxed.  As it was off-season, the bar was filled with typical Island folk, fishermen and oil-rig workers. 

IMG_0263

It was getting late so I paid my tab and rode back to the State Park.  It was a great place to visit.  If you like to fish, this is the place.

IMG_0271

The next morning I broke camp and headed towards Alabama.  FloriBama actually, the border of Florida and Alabama.  I had a date with some serious seafood and fantastic scenery.

IMG_0281

IMG_0282

NEXT: Lillian, Alabama heading south!

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. James O. Springate permalink
    January 22, 2014 10:49 am

    Can’t wait to read your P-Cola-Perdido Key segment. I camp in my travel trailer at Ft. Pickens at least once a year and take my traveling motorcycle, the XT225. I have a Harley buddy that lives in Lillian.

Leave a Reply

