Skip to content

IRON BUTT RIDE 2013–1,500 miles in 24 hours.

August 26, 2013

The last time I rode across the USA, I rode at my own pace and went where I wanted to go.  This time, I’m riding for a reason.  I want to become certified by the Iron Butt Association with a “bun burner” award.  That’s riding 1,500 miles in 24 hours.  Record keeping is vitally important as to prove your route and distance you need receipts of every fuel stop along with a date/location/time and amount of fuel printout.  Also, the ride must be officially witnessed at the start and end of the ride.

The IBA is very strict and will not certify anyone until they have verified the records and witnesses. 

Why would anyone punish themselves like this?  I don’t know.  For me it’s a personal challenge and a chance to get one last sticker on my motorcycle pannier that I somehow managed to miss on my last ride.  That sticker is for the state of Michigan.  How I missed that as I rode along the Northern part of Indiana drives me crazy to this day.  It’s literally a mile or less to the MI border in places!

I was focused on getting to Milwaukee, WI for the night and I just spaced on making the crossing.  That was stupid as there was no way I’d be coming back that way on the return trip.  The sticker is still in my tank bag and drives me crazy every time I see it.

image

I fired up my mapping software this morning and considered this route.  It ends up a bit short at 1457 miles so I’ll have to do a bit of adjusting here and there.  The only concern is that when you get south of St. Louis 24 hour gas stations are infrequent and the last 50-75 miles of the ride will be on seriously twisty roads that are narrow and animal filled.  Not the best place to be ending a ride where concentration may be lacking at the very end.

But, at least, I’ll get that damn sticker!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2013 8:30 pm

    What a challenge! and yes! get the damn sticker! When do you start?

    • August 30, 2013 10:39 am

      September 19. I’ll be riding through Connecticut, New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Kentucky, Illinois and finally Missouri.

      Working out a way to allow readers to follow along in real-time.

      Erc

Leave a Reply

