Skip to content

UPDATED GEAR REVIEW–TOURMASTER SOLUTION WP 2.0 ROAD BOOTS (20,000 miles later…….)

December 5, 2012

I really wanted to like these boots.  Really.  They are real leather, priced under $120.00 and comfortable.  They are not however, durable or waterproof. After about 20,000 miles of riding they are totally destroyed.  For comparison, my Moto GP style Alpinestars SMX Plus boots (that are decidedly not oriented towards motorcycle touring) are still going strong after close to 60,000 hardcore miles.  . 

This is a link to my November 2011 review of the boots:

https://dryohe.wordpress.com/2011/11/24/gear-review-tourmaster-solution-wp-2-0-road-boots/  (Quick summary, I was not impressed with the “100% waterproof” claim)

You might think “twenty thousand miles is a lot of riding” and it is.  However, for most of that period I was SITTING – not WALKING.  The wear on the boots is significant.  It is amazing that the right boot toe sole is worn through and the boot stitching has completely failed.  Will I buy another pair?  Unlikely.  Although the sub $200 price is nice, I do not believe this boot represents a value for the money.  I’m almost tempted to buy a pair of  $39.00 “US Military” boots from the local Ocean State Job Lot and see how they wear.

Tourmaster – if you are listening, Ya’ll need to work on construction of the boot and boot sole longevity.  Heck, raise the price by $40.00 if need be.  For anything else than riding a 50cc scooter to the local Walgreens these boots are pretty worthless. 

Below – the mid-foot stitching is gone.

IMG_1566

Below – exposing the inner liner.  This would not be good in a crash.

IMG_1567

Below – the left boot is completely shot.  No, I don’t drag my feet when riding. I suppose it’s possible that this wear is from using the rear brake but It’s unlikely.  If it ACTUALLY is wear from using the brake – RUN away screaming from these boots. 

IMG_1572

Below – Right foot.

IMG_1570

Below – Right boot – toe worn through.

IMG_1571

Below – inside left foot.

IMG_1573

Below – outside shot left foot.

IMG_1574

Below – Left foot showing tread almost completely gone.

IMG_1575

Below – Right foot – toe gone, sole worn out completely.

IMG_1576

Closing thoughts.  Well, it’s been a fantastic December here on the Connecticut coast.  I’ve been able to ride without my Gerbings heated jacket most days and today I even broke out the SPIDI Gara leather jacket (and was a bit cold indeed).  I’ll be heading back to Vermont for a few weeks to teach skiing at Stowe.  I hope that when I get back the weather here will continue to be mild and I can keep riding. 

UP NEXT – 2012 Year In Review

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2012 3:39 am

    If I can’t count on them to keep my feet dry, forget them at any price.

  2. Frank Gorshin permalink
    December 6, 2012 9:37 am

    Nice post. And for the record, I’m fairly certain Jean-Claude Van Damme is wearing these boots in “Expendables 2″…

Trackbacks

  1. Year End Review– Things, places, gear…. « Singlesided Swingarm
  2. VALUE GEAR–BILT Adventure Boots | Singlesided Swingarm
  3. Universal : Riding Gears Thread - Page 1036
  4. GEAR REVIEW – TOURMASTER SOLUTION WP 2.0 ROAD BOOTS. | Singlesided Swingarm

Leave a Reply

