Skip to content

THE WEST–Through Yellowstone National Park, Old Faithful, Painted Pots, and on towards Moab, UTAH

July 9, 2012

NOTE:  Just to avoid confusion, I’m writing these trip reports from memory a year later.  I took this part of the trip in mid-June 2011.

contact-bannerdonatecontact-bannerdonate

CONTINUED…….

The next morning we left Cody for Yellowstone National Park. The closest entrance to Cody is the East Entrance – so off we went.  The ride today was approximately 450 miles.  The longest of our trip together.  After Yellowstone, I had to essentially ride a North/South route through Idaho to Utah.

image

DESTINATION TODAY – YELLOWSTONE NATIONAL PARK

DSC00404_thumb1

I’ve seen so much of this country.  The USA is truly a beautiful and amazing place.   There are days that I think I’ll expire from the shear beauty of the scenery.  While there were days when the weather was challenging, most days were filled with scenery that  was indescribably beautiful.  Take my advice – pack your bike and go. 

You might not have the right gear, you will never have enough money, you might even get lost a few times.  BUT the rewards are beyond compare.  Trust me – pack your bike and go somewhere.  500 miles in any direction one way would be a good start – you can ride that in two days easily.

DSC00417_thumb1

Along the North Fork Highway we stopped for breakfast and met this fella.

DSC00420_thumb1

DSC06427_thumb1

DSC06429_thumb2

Go and pet him Suzie!

This was my first “signature” National Park. Yellowstone is a Disneyland for tourists. You won’t find the sort of crazed Germans, survivalists, and foreigners who frequent Death Valley, Moab, etc. Yellowstone is a mainstream park.

For those of you who don’t know, Yellowstone covers parts of Montana and Idaho and the great bulk is located in Wyoming. The park was signed into being by Ulysses S. Grant in 1872 and was believed to be the first national park of its kind. Yellowstone covers 3,468 square miles and is administered by the National Park Service.

From what I saw, it’s run very well and the park staff was very polite and helpful.

DSC06435_thumb2

We entered Yellowstone through the East gate. There is quite a climb as you near the Yellowstone lake. Of course, it started to snow! The temp gauge indicated a balmy 32 degrees. I needed TWO Gerbings for this trip!

DSC06437_thumb2

The frosty shores of Lake Yellowstone.

DSC06439_thumb2

DSC06452_thumb1

When I say “Frosty” I actually mean “FROSTY” It was freaking freezing the entire drive around.

DSC06448_thumb1

As we rode through the park I began to see a pattern. You would come along what appeared to be a massive car accident or a scene from “The Walking Dead”. Doors open, belongings strewn about, vehicles all over the place. No accident. Animals. If there was a Prairie Dog, Rabbit, Mouse, Guiney Pig, Elk, Bear, Russian Wolf Hound – whatever. People would absolutely freak out and come running with their cameras. Ignoring everything around them for a picture.

Yellowstone is absolutely massive.  You could easily spend a week driving around and seeing the sites.  If I were to do it again (and it was much warmer) I’d have spent a week there just getting to know the place.  Then again, I wanted to see Monument Valley so I had an afternoon to devote to the park.

DSC06454

This turned out to be a perfectly timed experience.  We parked the bike, stowed our gear and walked up to Old Faithful.

DSC00434

Almost on cue – it blew.  Fantastic!

DSC00436

DSC00442

DSC06456

DSC06469

Me checking out the vintage park vehicle.  You can still tour in this car.  I’m wearing full leathers and a Frogg Togg jacket.  Like I said, it was cold.

DSC06470

This is the Old Faithfull Inn.  It’s an amazing place.  The inside looks like some sort of crazy tree house.  The construction must be stronger that it appears as people were poking their heads out from all different levels.

DSC00446

DSC00449

DSC00452

There are stairs and more stairs, they go waaaaaaaaaaaaaay up high.

DSC00453

DSC00454

I came back to the bike just in time.  This little bugger was trying to get the zipper open on  my tank bag.  This is the second time I’ve had birds try to open it.  The first was at Scotty’s Castle in Death Valley and now today in Yellowstone.  Next time I’ll either zip tie the zippers or use the rain cover.

DSC06492

DSC00465

Fountain Painted Pots, Yellowstone National Park

Thank goodness for Suzanne.  I’d have missed this signature landmark of Yellowstone.  It’s not that easy to see from the road and at that point I was focusing on the next 400 miles we would have to ride that day.   Painted Pots is where you want to have the best camera you can afford and a massive memory card to burn pixels. 

DSC00473

Located in the Lower Geyser basin of Yellowstone, Fountain Painted Pot is named for the colors of mud in the area (reds, yellows, browns, etc.).  The amazing colors are derived from the oxidation states of the iron in the mud (thank you Wikipedia). 

DSC00480

The park has created a series of boardwalks over the bubbling pots that allow for fantastic pictures.  The colors are absolutely amazing.  It’s a bit eerie to walk along over the bubbling superheated clay as some areas don’t’ have guardrails.  Also, with the steam and wind, it covers the boardwalk and you have to pay attention to where you are walking. 

DSC00489

DSC00491

DSC00493

DSC00497

DSC00498

DSC00501

DSC00506

DSC00513

DSC00514

DSC00515

DSC00518

DSC00522

DSC00527

DSC00533

Here are a couple of intrepid folks riding across country on a single cylinder BMW F650-GS. 

DSC00537

Like I said, just grab what you have, pick a destination and go.  This guy was a self proclaimed “beginner” who had already had an unfortunate low speed crash that ripped off his windshield.  BUT  – he was unharmed, happy, learning, and excited to be traveling. 

DSC00539

HEADING SOUTH TOWARD SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH

After exiting the Park we rode south towards Salt Lake.  It was warmer now and as you can see from the pictures the scenery was amazing.

DSC00574

Having a passenger produced some amazing photos.

DSC00577

DSC00578

DSC00583

DSC00585

We stopped for the night in Ogden, Utah.  I used Priceline to again find a cheap hotel and book a room.  I usually submit bids in the $39.00 range and hope for the best.  Most of the time on this trip I had good results.   We unpacked our gear and considering everything else was closed, rode over to Denny’s for dinner. 

THE NEXT MORNING – On to Moab, Utah.

Suzanne putting on the UT sticker.  I bought them on ADV Rider.  You  can buy yours here  They are not cheap at $40.00 a set, but I really enjoyed putting them on every time I crossed a new state border.  The people who sell them are great too!  I lost the RI sticker and they were kind enough to send me a replacement.

DSC06515

Back on the road, heading South to Moab.

DSC06559

DSC06556

We arrived mid-afternoon in Moab and decided to check out the Canyonlands Campground.  Camping had originally been a big part of our trip and both Suzanne and I wanted to camp.  Temps were now in the 90’s and although I don’t mind tenting in the heat, we settled on a cabin (that thankfully had AC).

DSC06663

If you look closely at the photo above you will see a gondola base, lift towers and the gondola landing area at the summit.  According to the locals – I have no idea if this is true or not.  An outside developer came in and build this attraction.  Apparently there are Indian caves and lots of fantastic scenery  up there.  The locals said that the developer failed to get the proper permitting and the town would not allow them to open.  The attraction closed and went out of business having never had a single paying customer. 

I take this story with a large grain of salt as gondola cars, lift towers and the associated hardware run into the millions.  It’s hard to believe that someone would be that clueless considering the investment involved.

DSC06661

Suzanne posing outside our cabin.  You have to enjoy sand, gravel and more sand in Moab.  The first thing we did was unpack our gear, change into swimsuits and hit the pool.  There were a couple of ADV Rider types at the campground.  A pair of guys from England taking a year off to ride around the USA.  Nice guys.  Somehow I’m missing the photos.  Grrrrrrrrrr.  That sucks.

Anyway, the pool was fantastic and relaxing.

DSC06659

Sphrockets, schmockets.  I noticed a few tight spots in the chain in South Dakota.   The sprockets themselves were in fantastic condition and I was still able to adjust the chain to spec. 

DSC06658

Nothing like fine powdery grit to make chain maintenance a key issue of importance.  Yes, I’m a fanatic – I know 36.25 PSI is an idiotic number.  I should have just said 37 PSI and been done with it.  . The Michelin Anakee II tires were holding up well.

DSC06660

We setup the cabin, turned on the AC and headed into town for a few cold beverages and dinner.  It seems that everyone in Moab visits Eddie McStiffs for Happy Hour drinks and food. 

The food was forgettable.  “Southwestern” is how I’d loosely describe the menu with a splattering of burgers, wings, fries and brave choices for the uninformed “Atlantic Salmon” uhhhhhhhhh…. good luck with that. 

We had a pleasant ride back to the campground.  Moab is beautiful at night.  It had been a fantastic two days and I could not wait for the morning to start the next ride.

NEXT – JOHN WAYNE’S WORLD – MONUMENT VALLEY AND ARCHES NATIONAL PARK

_________________________________________________________________

LIKE what you read? Enjoy the Gear Reviews, Trip Reports, Photos and general ranting and raving? Consider supporting me with a donation in the amount of your choice. Buy me a tank of gas or a Slurpee if you like. I’d appreciate it!

contact-bannerdonateimage

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    July 13, 2012 11:03 pm

    Having fun reading your ride report. Came over from Ducati.ms. Is it generally that cold in Yellowstone in early June? I know weather has been unpredictable. I wish I could ride through, but my wife will not get on the back of the bike, so I guess it will be in a cage unfortunately. One day I would like to get a sport tour bike and seeing yours vaguely reminded me of the VStrom, which is actually a bike I would consider. There are enough used ones around to choose from. I sent you some gas money, thanks for the nice read.

    • July 17, 2012 1:15 pm

      Hi John,

      As far as I can tell it IS that cold in Yellowstone in June. If we had two Gerbings heated jackets I think it would have been better – it was cold! The V-Strom is a fantastic Adventure Touring bike. They seem to be have crazy high resale prices though. THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT! It keeps the wheels here turning and the keyboard going! Keep working on your wife – a GIVI box on the back of the bike with a back rest made all the difference for me. It’s impossible for the passenger to fall off, offers some back support and is comfortable for the passenger.

Trackbacks

  1. Ride Report - Cody WY to Yellowstone NP, then on to Moab, UT - Ducati.ms - The Ultimate Ducati Forum

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

