Skip to content
One Comment leave one →
  1. Jess Davis permalink
    November 21, 2013 10:07 pm

    You know, a year ago I was looking at the very nice elkskin gloves that Aerostitch sells, and trying to convince myself they were worth the money. Then I wandered into my local farm supply store and tried on a pair of Wells-Lamont Elkskin work gloves (uninsulated), and they felt pretty good. I threw down $20 on them, figuring they would serve as work gloves if they weren’t up to mosickle riding. They are great! Wonderfully soft and flexible, and surprisingly warm. Startlingly warm, in fact. They are good for anything down to about 45 degrees (with the handguards on my Tiger).

    So naturally, Wells-Lamont has discontinued them…..

    I did get a pair of Aerostitch’s hilarious “emergency rain gloves”, which they claim are simply heavy-duty, XXL dishwashing gloves. They work great over the elkskin. They are also, well, GREEN. There’s just no other way to say it.

    I’ve got some cheaper elkskin gloves for work gloves. They are some unknown brand that don’t fit as nice, but they also are warm. No more cowhide gloves for me.

Leave a Reply

