Skip to content

UPGRADE GARAGE–Custom Sargent Saddle for my Aprilia Caponord

May 4, 2011

My Aprilia Futura RST has what has been called the greatest seat ever put on a motorcycle.  It’s comfortable and never bothered me even on those 800 mile days through the blazing sun or pouring rain.  My Aprilia ETV Caponord, however, does not have a comfortable saddle.  Some days I have to get off after 100 miles.  And with the kind of riding I do, that’s just not going to work. 

On a previous motorcycle I purchased a Corbin Gunfighter custom made saddle covered in leather.  I had a bunch of custom details that I described to Corbin’s customer service department.  Each request was me with a “yeah sure” which made me nervous.  A month or so later the saddle arrived and guess what?  They ignored every single special request.  I think one of the most irritating things about the Corbin seat (in addition to the horrible customer service) was how freaking HEAVY it was.  Apparently they just throw the seat pans together with fiberglass and call it good.  It was ugly, heavy, and poorly made. 

The icing on the cake was the fact that it was MORE uncomfortable than the stock saddle!  It never broke in, the leather absorbed water like a sponge, and I grew to hate the sight of the stupid thing.

Rather than continue to bash Corbin, let’s let the Internet speak:

http://www.r3owners.net/accessories/7807-corbin-sucks.html

http://www.1130cc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10421&highlight=corbin+seats+suck

http://www.cyclechaos.com/4um/f27/corbin-seats-26840/

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CBYQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.harley-davidsonforums.com%2Fforums%2Fgeneral-motorcycle-related%2F6948-corbins-customer-service-sucks.html&ei=Z3jBTZH1Fof40gGc0_y2Cg&usg=AFQjCNGlGgyVUifeM6Ku1lek850rWBg4gw

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=2&ved=0CB8QFjAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.advrider.com%2Fforums%2Fshowthread.php%3Ft%3D661072&ei=Z3jBTZH1Fof40gGc0_y2Cg&usg=AFQjCNGIkkGIAwxjduBPYgqv1PL0TvtiOA

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=9&ved=0CHEQFjAI&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.riderforums.com%2Fshowthread.php%3F49671-Corbin-sucks&ei=Z3jBTZH1Fof40gGc0_y2Cg&usg=AFQjCNECKrhke49Q_3Ztu9Zj7lZJgq1Q_Q

Whew, people REALLY don’t like Corbin or their customer (or lack of) service. 

So, who is left in the world of custom motorcycle saddles?  I’ve heard good things about saddle makers like – Mr. Ed’s Moto, Sargent, Mustang.   I was reading through the Caponord section of the Aprilia forum (www.apriliaforum.com) and a reader described his issues and search for a custom saddle.  Ultimately he decided to go with Sargent.  I had no idea how to go about having a custom saddle made and even less of an idea how to describe what I wanted.  From what he described, we were similar in height and weight and he went into great detail with regard to how much time he spent on the phone with the designers and staff at Sargent. 

During his design process, Sargent even sent him pictures of the seat pan and new foam (they use a proprietary foam called Atomic Super Cell) before they added the covering.  I liked what I saw very much and decided to order myself a copy.  Three weeks later the new saddle arrived.  The images below are of the original (optional) tall Aprilia saddle and the new custom made Sargent saddle.

PICTURES – Stock Aprilia Caponord “Tall” Saddle

 

PICTURES: Sargent Custom Saddle

 

The quality and fit and finish are outstanding and it fit a bit tight at first, but I assume it will match the tank contours after a bit of riding time.

SO, HOW IS IT? 

No clue.  It’s raining today (really, really, really, raining)  and I’m heading south to the Kentucky Derby tomorrow.  Check back in two weeks and I’ll post my riding impressions. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Patrick Plummer permalink
    July 28, 2011 12:27 pm

    Hope you’re enjoying the saddle! I love mine! Patrick – *the guy on the forum that spent hours on the phone with Sargent* 🙂

    • July 29, 2011 8:08 pm

      I can’t thank you enough. I ran into Sargent at the BMWMOA National Rally last weekend and told them how much you and I enjoyed their product. If I could have the seat re-created, i would have it made a little higher as i’m hitting the rear seat pan now. Thank you Patrick for your hard work on the seat.

  2. November 17, 2013 8:39 pm

    Hi! You and I met at Ducati Vermont several years ago. I too have a Capo. I am dying for a new seat and would love to get in touch with Sargent. If you don’t mind me asking, what did you pay for it and how long were you without your original seat? Also, I would love to know how you get such good mileage out of your capo. And lastly, the pilot road 3 ARE great! I have been running a set for a year and love them.

    • January 29, 2014 6:40 pm

      Hey Marc,

      I believe the saddle cost something like $340…. can’t remember. It’s fantastic. The mileage increase on my Caponord has been due to an ECU reflash using TUNEECU and a custom “Catfish” map. Also, Iridium spark plugs, Magnecore Wires, a DNA high flow air filter and re-restricting the airbox. So a combination of things. I regularly see 250 miles out of a single tank of fuel.

Leave a Reply

