Skip to content

Has anyone actually been everywhere? Ask The Man in Black

January 10, 2010

 

 I’ve wondered if it’s possible to plan a ride to go to all the places in Johnny Cash’s song “I’ve been everywhere”.  After taking a look methinks no way.  So far I’ve been to thirty-one of the places listed, but I have most certainly not been “everywhere”  Gimme your stats – have you been “everywhere?”

Lyrics and Destinations:

“I’ve Been Everywhere”

 I was totin’ my pack along the long dusty Winnemucca road, When along came a semi with a high an’ canvas-covered load. “If you’re goin’ to Winnemucca, Mack, with me you can ride.” And so I climbed into the cab and then I settled down inside. He asked me if I’d seen a road with so much dust and sand. And I said, “Listen, I’ve traveled every road in this here land!”

[Chorus:] I’ve been everywhere, man. I’ve been everywhere, man. Crossed the desert’s bare, man. I’ve breathed the mountain air, man. Of travel I’ve had my share, man. I’ve been everywhere. I’ve been to: Reno, Chicago, Fargo, Minnesota, Buffalo, Toronto, Winslow, Sarasota, Wichita, Tulsa, Ottawa, Oklahoma, Tampa, Panama, Mattawa, La Paloma, Bangor, Baltimore, Salvador, Amarillo, Tocapillo, Baranquilla, and Perdilla, I’m a killer. [Chorus] I’ve been to: Boston, Charleston, Dayton, Louisiana, Washington, Houston, Kingston, Texarkana, Monterey, Faraday, Santa Fe, Tallapoosa, Glen Rock, Black Rock, Little Rock, Oskaloosa, Tennessee, Hennessey, Chicopee, Spirit Lake, Grand Lake, Devils Lake, Crater Lake, for Pete’s sake.

[Chorus] I’ve been to: Louisville, Nashville, Knoxville, Ombabika, Schefferville, Jacksonville, Waterville, Costa Rica, Pittsfield, Springfield, Bakersfield, Shreveport, Hackensack, Cadillac, Fond du Lac, Davenport, Idaho, Jellico, Argentina, Diamantina, Pasadena, Catalina, see what I mean-a.

[Chorus] I’ve been to: Pittsburgh, Parkersburg, Gravelbourg, Colorado, Ellisburg, Rexburg, Vicksburg, Eldorado, Larimore, Admore, Haverstraw, Chatanika, Chaska, Nebraska, Alaska, Opelika, Baraboo, Waterloo, Kalamazoo, Kansas City, Sioux City, Cedar City, Dodge City, what a pity.

A Singlesided Swingarm reader sent this:

I’ve been to several places in the song, but I wanted to mention that three of the places in the song are in my home province of Saskatchewan, in Canada.

Fond Du Lac is a tiny community in the remote northern part of my province.

The small town of Gravelbourg is actually my home town (born and raised) and is about a two-hour drive from where I live now.

And the even smaller town of Cadillac is only about a half-hour drive from Gravelbourg!

Also, as a point of interest, the city of Saskatoon (i.e. from Johnny Cash’s song “The Girl from Saskatoon”) is the largest city in my home province of Saskatchewan and Johnny penned the song after meeting a local beauty queen when he played Saskatoon in the late ’60s. Also, that girl was murdered a few weeks after she met Johnny Cash and to this day the crime remains unsolved.

Cheers,
Cambo

Thanks Cambo!  I actually thought Fon Du Lac was down near New Orleans.  I’m thinking about trying to get together a group of riders for an attempt at hitting all on a single day.   It would be interesting to see how few riders we could actually do it with. 

Eric

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cambo permalink
    January 11, 2010 12:10 pm

    I’ve been to several places in the song, but I wanted to mention that three of the places in the song are in my home province of Saskatchewan, in Canada.

    Fond Du Lac is a tiny community in the remote northern part of my province.

    The small town of Gravelbourg is actually my home town (born and raised) and is about a two-hour drive from where I live now.

    And the even smaller town of Cadillac is only about a half-hour drive from Gravelbourg!

    Also, as a point of interest, the city of Saskatoon (i.e. from Johnny Cash’s song “The Girl from Saskatoon”) is the largest city in my home province of Saskatchewan and Johnny penned the song after meeting a local beauty queen when he played Saskatoon in the late ’60s. Also, that girl was murdered a few weeks after she met Johnny Cash and to this day the crime remains unsolved.

    Cheer,
    Cambo

  2. Jeff Pritts permalink
    January 25, 2013 2:06 pm

    I just happened to run across this today. I had made this a project in the past year and hit a lot of the spots. I’m certainly not claiming to have been to all the spots but I did what I could. You might enjoy the video. I had a lot of fun making it and some of the pics are just a joke. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uS2ljnErAjI

Leave a Reply

