Skip to content

Motorcycle Review – 2010 Harley Davidson XR1200

January 4, 2010


 Review – 2010 Harley Davidson XR1200
       

I spent a few weeks in Austin Texas in October of last year. I also rode back and forth quite a bit to New Braunfels, TX having my bike serviced, hanging out at the Wurstfest and catching bands at Gruene Hall.  More info about my travels can be found on the right side of this page and in the archives.  Riding along, I could not but help and notice the gigantic American flag and covered wagon being pulled by Harley’s display at Cowboy Harley Davidson. I’ve been a life-long sport bike rider and have always sort of had a love hate relationship with Harley Davidson products.
        

On the one hand Harley riders are fanatical about their brand and support their local dealer with great passion. They live to cover themselves from head to toe with HD gear, tattoos, and t-shirts and that most special of all riding gear – leather chaps. They also tend to make their non-Harley vehicles known to other HD riders by covering them with stickers and witty sayings about deceased friends, uncles or nephews killed or maimed while riding HD motorcycles. Harley riders are absolutely hard core – no question. More so I think, than just about any other band of riders. Think about it. When the weather is nasty and you are in the middle of nowhere who do you see more often than anyone else? Harley Davidson riders. I am particularly in awe of HD guys who ride helmetless across New Mexico for example with no ear plugs in a sleeveless HD T-shirt. That’s hard core man. WHAT? I SAID THAT’S HARD CORE MAN! WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT? I S A I D, T H A T S HARD CO, oh forget it. Just buy them a beer and make sure your earplugs are secure.
        

The flying Harleys at Cowboy HD
        


        

Welcome to demo day!
        


        

On the other hand let’s face it. Harley Davidsons can barely corner, barely stop and are started with what appears to be a vending machine key. Whoa there buddy that’s crossing the line! Yes it is but let’s get real. Have you ever taken a close look at these buggies? The finest 1950’s technology today, at the cost of a small Villa in Honduras. Then again, they make pretty cool t-shirts. So let’s get to the meat of this thing, my review of the “sport bike” Harley the XR1200.
        

The Author getting on his “Willie G. Davidson”
        


        

The reason I’m at Cowboy HD this afternoon is I saw their advertisement about 2010 demo rides and jumped at the chance. I honestly believe if you don’t ride everything you can get your hands on in all sorts of conditions, you can’t have an informed opinion about other motorcycles beyond the bike you ride. I’ve been a ski instructor for more than 20 years and every spring I get out and test a massive quantity of new skis, and skis of all different types. Why? So I have a benchmark of data to work with. You only know what you know, not what you read in a magazine.
        

Anyway, I arrived at Cowboy HD and parked the Aprilia as far away as possible and walked up to the demo table and signed up. The folks at the table and the sales people in the store were just fantastic. Friendly, organized and knowledgeable about everything related to Harley Davidson. I took the ride captains suggestion and signed up for a bunch of different demo rides. While I was waiting for the next group of bikes to return, I wandered into the shop looking for a t-shirt. I find the level of customer service at every HD dealer I’ve ever been to be vastly superior to almost every Italian, British, German or Japanese motorcycle dealer (AF1 Racing in New Branfels, TX is an exception as is BCM Motorsports in Laconia NH),. “Would you like a water or coffee?” Why thank you! Fantastic. The Harley Davidson dealer experience, especially at Cowboy Harley Davidson is fantastic.
        

The bikes came back and I grabbed my helmet, gloves, and jacket. The first 2010 Harley I rode was some sort of chrome maroon thing with leather accents and peeling chrome. This my friends is where I differ from your professional motorcycle journalist. If the bike was crap then I’m not going to mention it in much detail. The only thing worth mentioning is that I could not figure out how to start the bike due to the vending machine key thingy. I’m also a bit different that a professional motorcycle journalist with my highly developed use of technical terminology. Needless to say when we got back from the first demo loop I could not wait to get off the bike and thought about just rolling up, jumping off, and letting it crash into the rest of the demo fleet. It was not love at first ride.
        

Next up was the XR1200 in all black. I have to admit that it’s a cool looking bike and it’s the only Harley that I’ve actively sought a test ride on. I climbed on and was instantly transported back to the 1980’s and the first time I rode a Honda Nighthawk S. I fired it up and got ready to line up and hit the demo loop. The seating position was relatively neutral and my feet easily touched the ground. Perhaps the most immediate thing I noticed as I brap, braaaaaaaaaaaaaaapped down the highway was that this Harley actually had brakes and brakes that felt like motorcycle brakes, not something stolen from a Briggs and Stratton riding mower. However to clarify what I mean by “brakes” we’re talking about the brakes from a 1980’s sport bike like a GPZ or the previously mentioned Nighthawk which sort of shows you where Harley is on the issue. When I think of modern brakes I think of the absolutely brilliant Brembo’s on a Ducati 848 or 1098. I want brakes that are powerful and will stop me when I want to stop – not the vague disconnected crap that comes with most Harley Davidson’s. I’ve read articles about how HD makes the brakes on its bikes soft on purpose because their riders expect a Harley feel. I even recall reading an article that said the brakes were soft because the riders would be unable to handle modern brakes. Are you kidding? We all want to stop quickly when needed.
        

On the XR, I chugged along dropping back from the pack and nailing the throttle. Third and fourth gear were my favorites and I spent most of the ride shifting between the two. One thing that I did not like was when I shut the throttle approaching a series of corners was that the throttle seemed to take a second or two to follow, causing the bike to keep accelerating for a heartbeat or two. This happened several times and it was unsettling. An inexperienced rider could easily overcook an approach and either crash into the pack or auger in off the side of the road. Maybe it was how I was riding but this was something that I really did not like. This bike is most comfortable at around town speeds or perhaps showing up at the local Chili’s for bike night. I can’t imagine what it would be like on an hour plus ride. Exhausting I think. I’m digging here to find much else to say about the Harley but quite frankly I’d just be repeating what every other magazine and journalist has already said.
        

I think I can sum up my review of this bike as follows. The XR is a simple, basic, industrial motorcycle. It turns, it stops and it rides well. The fit and finish is awful. The tach and speedo look like they were found in the discount parts bin in the performance parts aisle of your local Auto Zone. The suspension? Forgettable. If you want to buy a bike that can give you the same experience as the XR1200 but with more performance and a better ride perhaps you should consider firing up your computer and searching Craigslist or E-Bay for a sweet 1985 Honda Nighthawk S. I find it to be amazing that a motorcycle designed and built in 2009/2010 can easily be blown off the road by a mid-level affordable rice burner circa 1985. You think that’s a load of hype? Let’s go to the numbers:
   

  1985 Honda Nighthawk S   2010 Harley Davidson XR-1200  

Zero to Sixty        

3.60   4.34 (as measured by Bike magazine)  

Quarter Mile        

12.35
sec at 107.46 mph
  
13.11 @ 103.9 MPH (same source)  

Measured Horsepower        

67.7 @ 9,500 rpm   90.1
@ 6900 RPM
  

     

       

    
If you want a friendly, fast and all around motorcycle made to modern specs then look no farther than the 1985 Nighthawk S. It does everything better.    

   

     

  

 

   

  

28 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 12:27 pm

    I rode one at the Motorcycle show in San Mateo. What a pile of junk.

    • Frank permalink
      July 19, 2010 11:03 am

      Looks like you haven’t been reading the reviews here in the US or Europe…
      But I guess it all depends on what you want to do with it. But it definitely is NOT a pile of junk,
      BTW, what do you ride?

      • July 19, 2010 11:36 am

        Why a pile of junk of course! Thanks for your thoughts. Remember my review is from an actual ride of the motorcycle, not a magazine review.

        UPDATE:
        Magazine reviews? Glad you asked my little chum. August 2010 Cycle World (page 44 “By stark contrast. the XR is akin to huggin’ a boney broad”) (page 45 “The standard HD-issue fat brake and clutch levers and switchgear – all common to Softtails and such-is like performing a surgical incision with a buck knife compared to the clinical tactile sensation of the Kawai and MV’s sporting control interfaces”) (page 44 again, “Even when nailing a wheel floating holeshot, the XR took TWO seconds longer to move its mass through a standing quarter mile..”)

      • jon b permalink
        August 25, 2010 4:09 am

        he said an aprilia, did he mention what model and year?…

    • Mike Satterfield permalink
      January 12, 2012 1:59 pm

      I have had lots of bikes over the years and one thing I have learned is that one ride really doesn’t tell you much. You really have to spend time on a bike to learn much about it. About 6 months ago I purchased a Harley Wide Glide and really thought it was what I wanted. It was a beautiful bike that just lumbered down the highway without much effort, very comfortable. After 6 months of boredom, I test drove and eventually purchased the xr 1200. My first impression was great looks (retro), good handling, and pretty good brakes. After riding the thing on back roads and around town, i have grown to love it for what it is. This thing is heavy enough to sit well on the road on windy days, but manuverable enough to take corners with ease. it is certainly not for everyone, but I love mine. By the way, I am 58 years old nad have owned several types and brands of motorcycles over the years. I also currently own a 1975 RD 350, another very unique bike!

  2. March 11, 2010 9:36 am

    Thanks for the write up, not that I needed it since I have no interest in the bike personally, but I was curious about it’s performance prior to your review. Now I have a good picture of how the bike would feel if I rode it myself. From a cosmetic standpoint, I can’t stand the exhaust pipe layout, but I did see a picture of one with a Termi conversion and that looked really good. Good work.

    • March 11, 2010 10:15 am

      Hi John,

      I really like the way they XR looks. I absolutely agree with you that the Termi pipe looks great and I can only imagine how sick it sounds. It’s too bad that the price is completely insane for the value. If you want something that looks good and has a TON of soul check out a used Aprilia Tuono.

  3. March 20, 2010 2:36 pm

    You’re spot on with your report fresh and honest the way most people think!

  4. August 27, 2010 6:18 pm

    LOVE the article. Even more LOVE my 85 700s. Almost 50k miles and still running like new. Won’t trade for anything, specially a hardley.

  5. September 25, 2010 8:35 pm

    I like your blog. I’ve added it to my favorite bookmarks and subscribed in a reader.

    Looking forward to reading more.

    Thanks.

  6. Jason Len permalink
    September 29, 2010 8:40 am

    I think people unfairly judge Harleys. They are really well built motorcycles with a special charm no other bike has. I have a 2008 Electra Gluide and 2009 BMW GS1200 Adventure. In 5000 miles the BMW has left me stranded twice and had two factory recalls. I now have close to 20,000 trouble free miles on the Harley and if you want to ride 10 hours in a day there is nothing as comfortable as a Harley. Also the Harley’s weight is so much lower than the lighter BMW that it is much easier to handle and feels far more stable at low speeds….

    • September 29, 2010 8:52 am

      I’m not bashing all Harleys. Some are fantastic for their purpose. I believe Harley riders are some of the most dedicated motorcyclists on the planet. As I said in the article, the guys I would constantly run into in the absolute middle of nowhere were Harley riders. In fact, I was rescued in Kansas by two guys on Harleys who were kind enough to stop and help me get enough gas to make it to a gas station.

      Honestly though, Harley brakes are awful and the fit and finish is not on par with the cost of the machine and I don’t think any Harley owner would disagre with that. With a BMW you can see where the $20,000 went. If you want to ride something truly amazing and a bike that represents the future of motorcycling, check out a new Ducati Multistrada 1200. At the Ducati demo event there were several grizzled Harley guys walking around shaking their heads after a test ride. They were amazed at the capability and comfort of that bike. Simply amazing. I’ve an open mind and will soon be testing the 2011 HD line up.

    • Phil Stilber permalink
      November 5, 2010 1:20 pm

      “if you want to ride 10 hours in a day there is nothing as comfortable as a Harley.”

      I guess you’ve never thrown a leg over a Goldwing, Concourse, or FJR?

  7. Paul the Engineer permalink
    July 9, 2011 8:35 am

    I ride a Harley after growing up with sport bikes. I ride a sick Sportster custome. Anyway yes harley riders are dedicated to their brand unless you ride a sportster or a V-rod or the XR1200. Alot of the guys turn their nose up at us on the above bike. I dont want to be on a bike for 10 or 12 hours a day. That’s not why I bought a bike.
    Like people have mentioned they are built for what you want to ride. I dont care for the big 800-900 poound bike regardless what they are. So I dont ride one. If you want a sport bike you buy one. If you want the harley “lifestyle” you buy one knowing there might be a give and take involved. Yes there are better bike for the money. good write up. And ride what you want to ride. Get the bike that excites you thinking about getting out of work early to take the long way home.

  8. Mike Watkins permalink
    September 28, 2011 9:52 am

    Good writeup, and pretty much spot on when referring to the quality of customer service at the H-D dealerships. As a matter of fact, that was one of the things that swayed me to get a H-D vs. a metric bike when I bought mine. Compared to the experiences at the metric bike dealerships, which seemed like if they couldn’t close me on a deal within 10 minutes or so, they figured I was wasting their time. Not so at the H-D shop. They were friendly, took their time explaining things, and let me shop at my own pace. Anyone in sales, especially vehicle sales, could benefit from spending a couple hours at a local H-D shop to see how customers are supposed to be treated.
    Though I’m happy with my ’06 Sportster XL1200L, the XR has been grabbing my attention every time I’ve gone to the H-D dealer for the aforementioned T-shirts, hats, etc. 🙂
    I’m probably going to pull the trigger on one in the next week or so, and I appreciate the honest review you’ve given.
    Sure, the metric bikes may be better quality, finished better, and could outperform the H-D, but they’re missing one thing that seems unimportant at first, but makes all the difference in the long run… Soul. Or, character, if you will. Harleys have personality. Their quirks make them special in their own way.
    Look at it this way… It’s like comparing a domestic car like a Ford Fusion to a Toyota Camry. The Fusion has personality. It may not be as reliable, as comfortable, or anything, but it has a certain “cool” factor that’s just completely removed from the Camry. The Camry is the quintessential transportation appliance. They do their job well, but create no real bond with their owner. They’re designed to be used and forgotten. And when’s the last time you had a stranger walk up to you and say, “Hey man, nice Camry!”.
    The XR is a bike for the people that don’t want a overweight chrome factory with a Barcolounger between its wheels. It outperforms a lot of other bikes, but yes, comes up short in some areas too. But it’s considered a “standard”. The C student of motorcycles. It does most things satisfactorily, but few things well.
    But… It has soul. It’s cool. It strikes up conversations at filling stations or biker gatherings.
    It’s a 90° departure from the typical Harley cruiser, and for that reason I really like it.
    I can’t wait to get one.

  9. Steve permalink
    February 10, 2012 2:23 pm

    I have owned a 2009 XR since 2010 (Bought it new, as a last years model for $8,500)

    The bike & I have covered 10,000+ trouble free miles; riding & touring Southern Indiana, Iowa & Wisconsin. I have added a windscreen, soft saddles bags, a tank bag and a luggage rack, basically setting it up as a sport tourer.

    Its not as fast or pretty as the Ducati GT 1000 that I had previously owned.
    (What a bike!)
    But it doesn’t require valve adjustments every 7500 miles or blow you into the oncoming traffic lane when a strong / sudden wind unexpectedly broadsides you.

    Calling the bike “junk” after riding it one day is really not a correct analysis of the bike.

    I guess, it`s comparable to mid eighties bikes because it is a “Standard” motorcycle.
    I don’t recall it being described as a “Sport bike” – Just a bike that uses the XR 750 flat tracker as inspiration for design.

    Cycle world named it best “Standard” in 2009 or 2010
    Generally; they`re a pretty reliable resource & are almost always spot on when riding & reviewing motorcycles. The review they wrote about this bike was pretty correct in all aspects of performance, etc. (Its a good bike, especially for a Harley)

    Actually; in a lot of ways, the XR 1200 probably is the best motorcycle Harley has built…
    It stops, turns & goes better than anything else in the “Air cooled” line up.
    Its a great looking, good riding, reliable & easy to maintain motorcycle.

    Comparing it to anything else is irrelevant, as it is a Harley Davidson.

    Like all Harley`s – its 2-3 thousand dollars from being complete!
    While most H.D. owners go for the chrome & leather accessories – XR owners will likely upgrade the brakes, exhaust, suspension etc.

    The XR 1200 is not a refined euro-bike or Mass production Japanese model.
    It is an honest American motorcycle in all of its raw character & splendor…
    Its a joy to ride & brings back the simple, uncomplicated freedom of riding.

    Some folks; just don`t get it.

    • February 10, 2012 4:08 pm

      That is the single most articulate defense of the XR ever written. I take issue with a few things. First, you can’t hide under “it’s a Harley Davidson, comparisons are irrelevant” umbrella. It’s a MOTORCYCLE. I think it’s maybe the best Harley ever made (the jury is still out on the V-Rod) and the only Harley I’ve ever ridden that will give you a chance at not center punching the idiot ahead of you who jammed on the brakes to avoid hitting a pile of Starbucks cups… But to say it’s not comparable to anything else is nonsense. If I were to park an old Honda Nighthawk S in your driveway and say “ride this for a month” I think you would be blown away at the performance, power, brakes, etc. Similarly, if I were to take your (INSERT ANY HARLEY DAVIDSON EVER MADE) in that slot and replace it with a Ducati Diavel you would never, ever, ever be the same. The Diavel is the best bike ever made that does what Harley does. Sound, power, personality and appearance. It’s fantastic.

      Ducati’s now days go 15,000 miles between service. I absolutely agree with your analysis of Ducati’s of old.

      I love Harley’s,some people don’t get that. I think they have the best dealers on the planet. The most involved and fanatical riders anywhere and they are almost always the hardest of the hard core riders. I believe that I do get it! THANK YOU FOR TAKING TIME TO WRITE THE BEST ANALYSIS OF YOUR BIKE I’VE EVER SEEN!

      Eric

      • Robert Fletcher permalink
        June 11, 2012 12:29 am

        Wow. Opinons are like assholes. Everyone has one. I have been around the bike industry for 25 plus years. What may work for one guy may not work for another. The Honda you speak of, yes I have rode one. It lack something the Harley has and no matter what you do the Honda will never have. character! Iv’e had em all Buell, triumph speed triples, Ducati and all the jap bikes I could stomach (I did like my old Radian and Fazer!) I just bought and XR 1200 and you know what. I went on the Ronald Mcdonald motorcycle run this weekend. Nice well balenced bike. Yes dude, I know it is not a Brembo brake caliper. But I knew that when I bought it. I know the tranny isn’t slick shifting. Yes I’m sad it doesn’t have a way higher redline. But again you can not take away it’s character! One ride is not enough to pass judgement. Yes the Aprilia Tuno is a cool bike. And a whole different concept to. Again, opinions are like assholes and everyone has one. Just my 2 cents………Thanks for your opinion but I will disregard it, while you ride your clapped out old Honda!

      • June 11, 2012 5:39 am

        Couple of things.
        Yes, opinions are indeed like an asshole…….
        It’s Tuono not “Tuno” I don’t have one and don’t particularly like the looks of the new one.
        I don’t own a Nighthawk never have. Re-read the article.

        Do me a favor, take a demo ride on a Ducati Diavel and get back to me on how you think it compares to the XR.
        You can schedule a demo ride here:
        http://www.google.com/aclk?sa=L&ai=C9CfGmNjVT4LGE6L76QHLicS7BZvj2MUCq-2b8yuAvoXNVAgAEAFQiLPIlvn_____AWDJvpWH0KPYEMgBAaoEFk_Q6YsFv51WBN6ZQjigFsQZ5LOePgu6BRMIg7PnwYzGsAIVx0s6Ch13EL8yygUA&ei=mNjVT4OHEseX6QH3oPyVAw&sig=AOD64_1D0eX9LktA9L7MYwEjLf4UzVsuKA&sqi=2&ved=0CAgQ0Qw&adurl=http://www.ducatiusa.com/demothediavel.do

  10. June 11, 2012 9:36 am

    Yeah, boy! I love this motorcycle!

    Probably the last motorcycle I’ll ever buy. The Harley-Davidson XR1200 is a fantastic piece of machinery and a complete thrill to ride. Harley-Davidson should have taken a little time to promote this bike a little more to the younger crowd.

  11. Shane Townsend permalink
    July 4, 2012 9:49 pm

    The XR 1200 is no longer available in Australia…..(there are some secondhand but asking $12000+) so, after reading this I searched for a Nighthawk…..living in Oz we don’t get a lot of the different models you are exposed to and I had never heard if this model from Honda ….what a Bike!f…… and every review I could find, not a bad word amongst any….so i searched for one, plenty in the good old US of A…..and one in Australia…..could not believe it genuine 14000klms….2hrs later I had bought it on Ebay…..best decision I have made in a long time….these babys are just superb to ride….I cant believe what Honda had made and dropped…..most say they were just too good and did not wear out….anyway…..I thank you most sincerely, for My Knighthawk and it now sits proudly in the garage and turns heads over here continuously…..(every one has a Harley……) there is only one other in Oz…..and it can never be registered….another story

    • Ken permalink
      August 13, 2012 10:12 am

      Give me a break. It’s cool…it’s got character. BS. It’s a piece of crap Harley like every other piece of crap Harley! The only reason any of you like them is because they are made in the USA and you are all fanatically and even moronically patriotic. Period…end of discussion. Overpriced, under engineered loud obnoxious heaps of garbage. Anyone who would buy a Harley needs to have their head examined. Great review.

      P.S. What’s the difference between a Harley and a Hoover? The position of the dirtbag!

      • August 31, 2012 11:03 pm

        I just purchased a 2010 XR1200 with 700 miles for $6000 USD.
        Bike is in mint condition, I couldn’t pass up this deal. I’ve read the reviews, so I knew what I was walking into. A lot of the comments above make sense. For some people 1 ride is enough to decide if the bike is junk, for others it is not. I’ve had a handful of motorcycles and they’ve all had their charms and their quirks. They’ve also all had and served a purpose. It all just depends what your need is.

        I live in Chicago and work downtown. My commute to work is about 4 miles right into crazy traffic. A Ducati Diavel (Or any large bike for this matter) for this commute would be junk. I split lanes (when traffic is locked) with only inches to spare on each side, If I wouldn’t split lanes I would be 20 minutes late to work every day..I also park under a bridge jammed with 20 other motorcycles and scooters. So my cowls are pretty banged up. Not a nice place for a 20k bike. Again, there is a tool for everything.

        I’ve owned a Ducati Monster, everyone told me to get a SV650, because it had better brakes, more power, mo reliable, etc etc. It probably does, but that didn’t matter. I love the iconic look of the Monsters, I always wanted one and I got it! Do I dare to say.. It had soul.. Sometimes the best specs on paper do not translate into something one desires. Case and point. I’m also a photographer, a new retro designed camera came out (Fuji X100) It was sluggish, didn’t have all the best features, only one lens, etc. But, It reminded me of when I use to shoot film, so I wanted it, again, it has soul. I adapted my shooting style and guess what? It did the better job than my Pro DSLR, why? Because I wanted to carry it along all the time.

        Back to the Monster, I eventually sold it. Why? Because I wanted to do some touring. So, I picked up a 06 Multistrada 620. Again, people told me. You’re nuts! You’re going to do cross country touring on a 620cc bike??
        I put on some new rubber, bought panniers and I set off west, RT66 to LA, along with some detours. Guess what? Probably the best ride of my life so far. I rode 89A in AZ, south of the grand canyon with a ton of bends. Guys on proper touring bikes, Harleys, BMWs, Gold Wings, couldn’t keep up with me. (I barely touched my brakes, love that slipper clutch) They seemed like big turtles. My multi doesn’t have their power, but it’s so light and tossable that its element is that terrain and it excelled at it.

        Last June I trode it to Nova Scotia, took it to the tip of Cape Breton Island. Meat Cove, no tarmac, a gravel road of about 15km of some pretty steep hills. Again, guys on GS’s and V-Stroms were warning me that my wanna be adventure bike with street tires would not be suitable for that ride. The bike handled just fine, on a stretch I even passed the guy on the V-Strom. If anyone has seem Longway around, you’ll remember the little russian bike was going places the GS’s could not.. anyways. At the end of the day, we all ride bikes because we feel a connection to whatever we ride. We all have different needs and expectations. No Bike is perfect.

        My dream bike is something that handles like my Multistrada on tarmac, like a baby BMW GS on dirt, Brakes like a modern sportbike, weighs about 400lbs (not top heavy), has 80-90 HP, gets 65MPG, all in one attractive retro style design.. (along the lines of a triumph scrambler)

        Is there such a thing??

        If Ducati ever makes a Multistrada 796, for 11k, I’ll be one of the first in line.

        For now, I will enjoy my whiny, laughable 2stroke stella, for my work commute, my under powered and ugly ducking MTS 620 for touring, and my pile of junk XR1200 to cruise around on a bike night or sunday ride.

      • September 1, 2012 9:02 am

        Your wishes maybe granted soon. There are spy shots on MCN UK showing what they believe is a smaller MS. What the Multistrada really needs now is some electronic upgrades – the color display from the Diavel, a cruise control is at the top of my list.

        When they add the CC I’ll stop looking lustfully at the Triumph 1200 Explorer.

        As far as the XR – ride a Diavel. Game over. It really is a Harley with a college degree and imagination.

  12. September 1, 2012 12:36 pm

    Dryohe,

    I will keep a close eye on that smaller MTS.
    I don’t doubt the Diavel is an awesome machine. Unfortunately I don’t have that much cash laying around. Like I mentioned before, an XR1200 for $6k, with 700 miles.. Couldn’t pass it up. If I get bored with it, or that smaller MTS comes around, I’ll probably sell it and not loose a dime on it.

Trackbacks

  1. The Nazis still exist in California « Singlesided Swingarm
  2. 2010 in review « Singlesided Swingarm

Leave a Reply

